Thursday, October 22, 2020

Most losses in IPL? Delhi Capitals staring at unwanted century in tournament

Delhi Capitals IPL 2020 vs RR

Delhi Capitals are a team that has underachieved in the Indian Premier League along with Kings XI Punjab. Ever since the inception of the IPL in 2008, Delhi Capitals have never won the title and they achieved embarrassment for 11 years when they did not win a single match in the knock-out tournament. In IPL 2019, they won the Eliminator against Sunrisers Hyderabad which was their first win in an IPL knock-out match.

In 2008, they finished fourth while in IPL 2009 in South Africa, they topped the group only to be eliminated in the semi-final by a spirited Deccan Chargers. In IPL 2010, they finished fifth but since then, they have struggled. In IPL 2011, they secured the wooden spoon. Although they lost in the second qualifier of IPL 2012 due to botched team selection, in IPL 2013 and IPL 2014, they once again finished at the bottom. From IPL 2015 to IPL 2017, they just avoided the wooden spoon before once again touching rock bottom in the 2018 edition.

The fact that the entire play-off system was changed due to Delhi Capitals’ poor show in the knock-outs is a measure of how greatly they have underachieved. It is no surprise that ahead of the match against Rajasthan Royals, the Delhi Capitals are staring at an unwanted century which will make them the first team to achieve this dubious distinction in IPL history.

Dubious ton

In 184 IPL games played by Delhi Capitals, they have won 80 and lost 99. If they lose to Rajasthan Royals on Wednesday, they will become the first team in history to have lost 100 games in the IPL. Delhi Capitals are level with Kings XI Punjab when it comes to losses as they too are on 99. If they lose to Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals win against Rajasthan Royals, then Kings XI Punjab will become the first team to lose 100 games in this competition.

Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab are the three teams, along with Royal Challengers Bangalore who have lost more than 90 games in the IPL. Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore have lost 94 games.

Only five existing teams have a positive win-loss ratio when it comes to the IPL and they are Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. It comes as no surprise that these four teams have won the IPL from 2008 to 2019.

Source link

Leave a Response